Women of UK Swimsuit Calendar

AUGUST - Amanda
Stacks Image 280
Stacks Image 281
Stacks Image 91



Stacks Image 282
Stacks Image 283
Stacks Image 284

Model Profile


What was it like being photographed at Darby Dan Farms, one of the most prestigious horse farms in KY for the very first, Women of UK Swimsuit Calendar?
It was absolutely amazing! The farm was breathtakingly beautiful and I had never seen anything like it - it was also so huge that I got lost trying to find my way to the shoot. I loved spending the day out in the quiet country away from the hustle and bustle of Lexington’s city life.

What is your favorite part of being in the calendar, so far?
So far I would have to say the whole day of the photo shoot itself - getting my hair and makeup done, working with Dave (the photographer), and meeting and hanging out with the rest of the crew. They all made me feel so comfortable and made my day so much more fun! I am looking forward to all the events for the calendar in the near future as well!

Why did you select UK for your university?
I have always wanted to go to UK - it is a tradition in my family. I grew up with my cousins always talking about how awesome the university is, and Kentucky Basketball is always on our TV. When the time came for me to go away to college there was no discussion. I guess you can say I was born to be a Wildcat :]

What's your favorite UK tradition?
My favorite UK tradition would definitely have to be tailgating. Everyone knows fall semester is the best since there is football, and where there is a football game there is a tailgate. It’s just so much fun having a good time with your friends and cheering on the cats in the warm weather! And it also gives us girls an excuse to shop for a new blue outfit ;]

Describe one of your favorite things about UK, and/or Lexington.
One of my favorite things about UK is the Keeneland horse park. It has a very classy atmosphere, and its always fun to dress up and bet on the pretty horses (which I’m sadly not very good at haha)!

Describe your typical weekend night in Lexington.
If I don’t have a big nursing test to study for, I love to go out with my friends and be a bit of a social butterfly! I’m also in a sorority, and sometimes we have date parties which are always a blast to go to. But some nights I like to go to the movies/dinner with my girls or even just stay in and hangout.

Do you have a favorite sport at UK?
Definitely basketball! UK basketball is the biggest tradition here and its always awesome to see everyone get so hyped up about it when the season rolls around - the entire campus has so much pride and support for the team!

What is the dream job you would like to have after graduation?
My dream job after I graduate would be a to become successful nurse practitioner, specializing in cardiology or neurology and working in a high acuity area!

Why did you choose to be part of the Women of UK calendar?
The calendar application link was posted on my sorority’s Facebook page, so I decided to fill it out and submit mine. I love meeting new people and being in front of a camera, so I was really excited when I found out I was selected!

List 3 or 4 words that describe you best?
Friendly - I’ve never met a stranger and am always one to go out of my way to do something for someone else. I love to make others feel loved. I’m also very driven - I know what I want and I know how to get there, and I won’t let anything stand in my way or cause me to slack off. Another word to describe me would be loyal - I always stand by the people I care about no matter what.

Why did you choose your major?
I chose nursing as my major because I love to help others! Putting all my effort into caring for someone else makes me feel good and also makes me feel like I’m doing something good. I also find human anatomy fascinating - I’m kinda nerdy in that way.

Are you involved in anything on or off campus you are proud of?
I am a member of Kappa Delta sorority here on campus, and I absolutely love it. It has allowed me to grow in confidence and meet all kinds of awesome girls, including my best friends that I live with now! Through KD I have also been able to get involved in the community, which is something I love to do.

What special talents do you have?
I love to cook/bake. My family has taught me the art of southern-style cooking, so I hope to continue this on in the future with my own family! I’m also an artistic person and am always finding something new to craft up!

Name something that most people don't know about you.
Something that most people don’t know about me is that I love to travel. I was born in Germany and have been to several places in Europe, South America, the Caribbean, and here in the US. New experiences and touring new strange places is always exciting to me.

What do you look for in a guy? What is sexy?
Definitely someone with a good sense of humor that can make me laugh, since I tend to joke around a lot. Also someone who is very kind and easy going as well, since I’m more of a go-with-the-flow kinda girl.

Tattoos - Turn on, turn off, I'm fine either way?
If the tattoo has a good meaning behind it, then definitely a turn on!

Would you say you are more country girl or city girl?
I love the city and the fast-paced aspect of it, but I think when it really comes down to it I’ll always be more of a country girl. I can do with both, but I love my peace and quiet and the laid-back feeling that the country gives you.

Roses or chocolates?
Roses! :] I love chocolate as well, but there is no better feeling than getting flowers. Its enough to brighten any girls day!

I want to say…
That I am extremely excited for everything that this calendar will bring this year! I am very thankful to have been a part of this experience and to hopefully have started a new tradition here at UK. It has been such a great experience and I have been able to meet so many awesome people through it, and in a way I feel like I’m part of a new family! I hope you all enjoy our first ever Women of UK Swimsuit Calendar! :]